A Conversation with Kaylan

Tell us a bit about yourself, where you’re from, what you do, your favorite brand of cereal or  fave show on Netflix.

I am Kaylan, a visual artist & graphic designer originally from Nigeria & Benin (in West Africa), based in Montreal. In my spare time, I enjoy reading books on spirituality, psychology and watch scientific documentaries. My favorite show on Netflix is Supernatural. I don’t have a favorite brand of cereal, but I do love vintage clothes (you can catch me anytime in a thrift store).

What got you into illustration/drawing/graphic design? How long have you been doing it?

I remember drawing a lot in my childhood, I’d say around 5 years old or so and I knew I wanted to go into Art for the rest of my life. It’s something I’ve always been passionate about, so I decided to combine my creative side with something more technical. As we all know, technology is evolving quickly, so I went into graphic design, and I now have 5 years of experience in the field.

How does ‘feminism’ make you feel? Do you feel included in the movement?

Feminism is a very powerful word and I truly believe that women are beautiful and powerful beings. Yes, I do feel included in the movement.

If you identify as a feminist, how do you think your work subscribes to it?

I think most of my work is a unique form of female empowerment, as it shows the many sides and facets of our femininity, from pain to scars, to beauty and love. It values women.

If you could say anything to young girls out there, what would you say?

One message I’d like to send to all these beautiful women and young sisters out there is: Be proud of who you are, be proud of your story, your beautiful features and remember that self-love is always your shield.

Any cool projects you’re working on right now and that we should look out for?

I’m working on this cool 3D art right now on that focuses on women, expect something very interesting and different that will captivates your soul !

If you’d like to get to know Kaylan’s work, check out her website or instagram and let her know how awesome she is ! Look below for a few samples of her amazing work. 

Ce diaporama nécessite JavaScript.

Un commentaire sur “A Conversation with Kaylan

Ajouter un commentaire

Laisser un commentaire

Créez un site ou un blog sur WordPress.com

Retour en haut ↑

